What is the Crossroads Bank for legislation?

The outcome of a cooperation agreement between several federal, community and regional institutions, the Central Legislation Databank is designed to offer a portal site citizens can use to gain access to Belgian legislation and case-law.

Launched on 8 March 2005, the portal site features the following domain names: www.belgielex.be, www.belgiquelex.be, www.belgienlex.be, www.belgiumlex.be.

The project is based on a two-stage process.

During the initial stage the present one the databanks of the participating institutions may be accessed via one portal site. This stage involves a) the creation of an access point to these databanks and b) establishing links from each institution's databanks to the databanks of other institutions.

The databanks are broken down into three categories in the light of the type of information on offer: preparatory parliamentary proceedings, legislation and case-law. A fact sheet that is available describes the characteristics and content of each databank.

The second phase involves linking the various databanks with each other so as to create a fully-fledged network, while developing a specific application to allow all the databanks to be consulted with a single search operation. The timetable for implementing this stage has yet to be decided upon.

Qu’est-ce que la « Banque carrefour de la législation » ?

La Banque carrefour de la législation est le résultat d’un accord de coopération entre une série d’institutions fédérales, communautaires et régionales et elle a pour objectif de permettre au public d’avoir accès à la législation et à la jurisprudence belge par le biais d’un site portail.

Le site portail est opérationnel depuis le 8 mars 2005 et porte les noms de domaine suivants : www.belgielex.be, www.belgiquelex.be, www.belgienlex.be, www.belgiumlex.be.

Le projet est exécuté en deux phases.

Au cours d’une première phase - la phase actuelle - l’accès aux banques de données des institutions participantes est ouvert par l’intermédiaire d’un site portail. Cette phase suppose d’une part la création d’un point d’accès à ces banques de données et, d’autre part, l’établissement de liens au départ des banques de données de chaque institution vers les banques de données des autres institutions.

Les banques de données sont réparties en trois catégories selon la nature des informations offertes : travaux parlementaires préparatoires, législation et jurisprudence. Les caractéristiques et le contenu de chaque banque de données sont exposés dans une fiche descriptive.

La deuxième phase consistera à associer intimement les différentes banques de données pour constituer un véritable réseau et à mettre au point un logiciel spécifique permettant de consulter toutes les banques de données en n’effectuant qu’une seule opération de recherche. Il n’a pas encore été établi de calendrier pour l’exécution de cette phase.